PASSENGER PROTECTION ACT
"Law of Love"
PENNSYLVANIA'S NEW CHILD PASSENGER
into law on June 22, 1993 was a measure (HB 461, Act 22/1993) updating
Pennsylvania's child car seat law. The new law became effective on
August 21, 1993.
provisions are as follows:
Infants and toddlers up
to age 4 must be securely fastened in approved car seats no matter
where the child is seated in the vehicle. (Previous law allowed
children ages 1 to 4, who were riding as back seat passengers, be
secured by a safety belt instead of a car seat.)
All drivers are
responsible for making sure children are properly secured.
The new law applies to
all motor vehicles operating on Pennsylvania's roads and highways.
(Previous law did not apply to vehicles registered out-of-state.)
Violations are a primary
offense, meaning that the presence of another code violation is not
necessary for penalty under the law.
Violators face fines and
costs totaling up to $89.
BUCKLE BABY RIGHT
Always follow the
manufacturer's instructions for the proper installation of child
The center rear seat is
considered the safest place for a child seat.
Infant seats face
backward and are semi-reclined; toddler seats face forward.
Convertible seats are
available that function both as infant carriers and toddler seats.
Safety booster seats are also available for older children between
40 and 60 pounds.
Don't forget to anchor
the child restraint to the car's seat belt & make sure the
seat's harness fits snugly (maximum two finger widths of slack
matter how short your destination, set a good example by using your seat
belt whenever you travel. Not only will you influence others to buckle
up for safety, it's the law!
belt usage is required as follows:
Drivers and all front
seat passengers must be restrained.
Drivers are responsible
for themselves and for each passenger under age 18 riding in the
carriers of medical or psychological excuses signed by a physician,
rural letter carriers, deliverers of goods or service vehicle
operators driving at speeds less than 15 mph and making frequent
stops, drivers of automobiles manufactured before July 1, 1966.
Violations are a
secondary offense and are punishable by fines and costs totaling up
* * *
SAFETY SEAT LOAN
more safety tips and/or for information on child safety seat loaner
programs in your area-at nominal or no charge-call the Traffic Injury
Prevention Project (TIPP) toll free: 1-800-CAR-BELT
Copyright 2000 Sen. Vincent J. Fumo